Configuring Remote Diagnostics

Use the SMC to configure remote diagnostics by choosing a service level and defining connectivity settings. You may not need to follow these steps if you are going to use the default Full Diagnostics service level via the web service.
  1. Log into the SMC and go to Configure > System Settings > Diagnostics Data.
  2. Select a diagnostics service level. See Diagnostics Service Levels for details about the differences.


  3. Optionally, set the send interval by selecting from the drop-down list. (Every 15 minutes is the default interval.)
  4. Select the communications type: Web Service or Email.
    Note: Select Disabled if you want to disable all diagnostics activity on your appliance.
  5. Enter the required information for the communications type you chose:
    • If you selected Web Service, you may need to enable and define a proxy host, port, and type (HTTP or SOCKS) and add a new trusted certificate. If you have a proxy, select Enable Proxy and fill out the required fields. If your proxy requires its own certificate, you can clear existing certificates, add new ones, and trust them pending a save to your new diagnostics settings. (If you do not have a proxy or you have a transparent proxy, do not select Enable Proxy.)
    • If you selected Email, fill out the requested details, including the SMTP server and the recipient.
      Note: When the Recipients field is left blank, phonehome@yellowbrick.io is the default recipient. If you enter any other email addresses where you would like the diagnostics data to be sent, you must also manually enter phonehome@yellowbrick.io (assuming that you want Customer Support to receive the diagnostics information automatically). The list of recipients must be separated by commas.
  6. Test your configuration by clicking Test Alert, then Send Alert. A default test message will be sent; optionally, you can edit the message text and severity. If the alert fails to send, go back and check your settings.
  7. Click Save Settings in the top-right corner of the screen.
    A pop-up message provides instructions on stopping and starting the database in order for the configuration changes to take effect.